My life

Irresistible

My wife’s birthday serenade included this classic love song by Pedro Flores. The lyrics are below along with a rough translation.

From heaven I’ve received news that
an angel has unwittingly escaped
and is wandering lost on earth
dressed as a lady
I know of a creature that I’ve seen and
every time I get to see her
it seems as though I’m looking at an angel
the angel that I love
But I’m just a miserable guy
and can do nothing but tell you this:
God bless you, irresistible creature
God bless you, lady
The only comfort I have is that I’ve been able to see
from up close the most beautiful lady
the loveliest creature I’ve ever seen
the figure that most irradiates pleasure
She’s so strange, so uncomplicated and so gorgeous
like the loveliest rose in the garden
that I would die if I didn’t tremble when I see her
Oh what a lovely lady
But I’m just a miserable guy
and can do nothing but tell you this:
God bless you, irresistible creature
God bless you, lady

Desde el cielo he recibido la noticia de
Que un ángel se ha escapado sin querer
Y que anda perdido por la tierra
lo que tiene es que se viste de mujer
Yo conozco una criatura que yo he visto y
Que cada vez que yo la puedo ver
Me parece que estoy mirando a un ángel, el ángel de mi querer
Pero yo no soy más que un infeliz
que no puedo mas que decirte así
Dios te guarde criatura irresistible
Dios te bendiga mujer
El consuelo que me queda es que he podido ver
De cerca la mas hermosa mujer
La criatura mas linda que yo he visto
la figura mas henchida de placer
Es tan rara tan sencilla y tan hermosa
Como la más linda rosa de un vergel
Que me muera si al verla yo no tiemblo
Oh que preciosa mujer
Pero yo no soy, más que un infeliz
que no puedo mas, que decirte así
Dios te guarde criatura irresistible
Dios te bendiga mujer

Standard

5 thoughts on “Irresistible

Leave a Reply

