Music

It Never Ends, by Aldemaro Romero and Sammy Cahn

I can’t find lyrics for this beautiful song anywhere online, but I have discovered that they were written by the great lyricist Sammy Cahn, and that the album (Charlie Byrd/Aldemaro Romero Onda Nueva/The New Wave) is available in vinyl on Amazon for $11.79 plus shipping. I can’t find full credits anywhere so I haven’t identified the excellent vocalists, either.

Below the video is my transcription of the lyrics. Let me know if you hear anything different.

It just goes on, it never ends
From dawn to dawn, it never ends
Through dark of night, it never ends
You’re there inside, it never ends
And when I sleep, there is no sleep
No tears at all, although I weep
The dreams I shape take hold of me
There’s no escape, I’m never free
I run and run and when I’m through
I’ve run to you

Down leafy lanes, it never ends
Through summer rains, it never ends
The sound of larks, it never ends
Deserted parks, it never ends
Time can’t erase, cannot dispel
that smiling face I knew so well
It’s always there, as you can guess
to bring despair and loneliness
for those I tried to kiss all knew
that I kissed you

When love was mine, the earth was new
and there were things to see and do
When love was mine, the skies were too
You clung to me and I to you
Now it’s small comfort to recall
that it is better, dear, by far
to once have loved than never to have loved at all

When love was mine, the earth was new
and there were things to see and do
When love was mine, the skies were too
You clung to me and I to you
Now it’s small comfort to recall
that it is better, dear, by far
to once have loved than never to have loved at all
It never ends
Never ends

Standard

3 thoughts on “It Never Ends, by Aldemaro Romero and Sammy Cahn

  1. Good transcription of the lyric , Tim .
    I am the first commenter but I think I know the reason. In sarting from your name on your comment on my site It was impossible to join your here. I always was directed on your Gravataar and could not go out of there .
    I had to type roadkillsparulla on WordPress to find this post and comment .
    Something weird to check.
    In friendship
    michel

Leave a Reply

