My life

Where my family lived when I was born (more Google Maps)

House on Floyd
My parents actually built this house themselves in the late 1950s, with the help of a carpenter. I’ve never been inside it, other than my first 11 months of life, but it was pointed out to me in my childhood. I can’t really imagine a family with five kids in a place that looks this small, but it may be bigger on the inside, like the Tardis.

Across the street was the Bible Chapel where my family attended. When my folks became missionaries, the Chapel was their sponsoring congregation, which meant vouching for them to the other churches in the network and providing a portion of their financial support. I have many warm memories of the Bible Chapel and our friends there. On Easter Sunday, the church we attend here in Tampa sang an old hymn that brought back the memory of heartfelt four-part harmony in the Chapel, often a cappella.
Bible Chapel
The congregation has since moved to a larger building in another KC suburb. I’m friends with many current and former members on Facebook.

Standard

4 thoughts on “Where my family lived when I was born (more Google Maps)

  1. Looks like a nice home.
    And I love hearing about how that song on Easter brought back a memory of “heartfelt four-part harmony in the Chapel…” πŸ™‚
    HUGS and Happy Whee-kend!!! πŸ™‚

    • When I think of the Chapel, I think of hymns like “Wonderful grace of Jesus…” sung with great vigor in four parts. I miss hymns, having been away from them since 1987 for the most part.

  2. Some songs remain carved in our memory for our lifetime.
    Your parents were fervent missionaries and also builders
    It is great to read your memories.
    In , friendship
    Michel

    • I’m glad you enjoy them. My parents built this house and sold it a very short time later. I wish I had thought to ask my father about that before he died. April 9 was the 5th anniversary of his death.

Leave a Reply

