Colombia, My life

The church my father founded in Puerto Asís, Putumayo, Colombia

Puerto Asis chapel
This morning I did more exploring on Google Maps and found the chapel built by my dad and other men from the church he established in the early 1960s, a few blocks closer to the center of town. It’s the building on the left, and looks basically like it did 50 years ago, with the addition of the wall in front and the buildings overshadowing it. The house to the right (barely visible behind the tree) served as a little school, also founded by my father. I took first grade there when I was five. The church is still going strong. I don’t know how long the school lasted.

Standard

5 thoughts on “The church my father founded in Puerto Asís, Putumayo, Colombia

  1. This is cool to see, Tim!
    Your father must of been a great and good man! I’m sure his influence and impact in that area was positive and profound!
    Churches and schools can bring life to a community.
    It is wonderful to think that he lives on there. 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

    • My dad had a big impact, both in Puerto Asís and in Medellín. People still remember him fondly, even though we left Puerto Asís 48 years ago. I’m glad the church is still going.

Leave a Reply

