Colombia, My life

My childhood home on Google Maps

Puerto Asís house
My first memories are of the jungle town of Puerto Asís in the Putumayo province of Colombia. We lived on the road to Cocaya, at the edge of town. My dad built this house. Our lot must have been an acre or more. Across the street we had a sugar cane field, and to the right of it, Dad set up a little cemetery for people from our church. He sold the house and the cane field when we moved to Medellín (as I recall, he got gypped on the sale, which took place after we left), and eventually the house ended up as a residence for a group of nuns.

Today I started fooling around with Google Maps and I followed the Cocaya road into Puerto Asís, looking at all the properties on the left side of the road. About halfway into town, I spotted this church. Look what’s behind the wall! The roof line and the windows are unmistakable.
House

Standard

2 thoughts on “My childhood home on Google Maps

  1. Great photos. 🙂
    I remember when I first started reading your blogs on Xanga (a million years ago)…you often shared stories from your growing-up-years. It’s nice to see the house you made those memories in.
    How wonderful to live in a house your Dad built! And how wonderful for your family to make that house a home! 🙂
    Happy Easter to you and Alicia! 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

