Music, My life

Music for a healthy high school love: Three Dog Night’s I’d Be So Happy

My second girlfriend was and is a totally admirable person. We dated our senior year in high school. It was a great relationship; no conflict, no weirdness, healthy boundaries, a lot of fun. We were involved in everything: softball, volleyball, yearbook, drama club. She and my best friend Murray were on student council. I edited the school paper. I remember lying in bed one night listening to this song and marveling at my good fortune.

As high school drew to a close, it was clear that we weren’t really made for each other. We didn’t so much break up as head our separate ways after graduation. I went to the University of Kansas. She attended a Christian university where she majored in PE and played varsity volleyball. She met and married another volleyball jock. Together they have raised a beautiful family and had a life of ministry.

The song stirs feelings of gratitude for that senior-year relationship. I feel a bit of nostalgia for the best year of my youth, but no wistfulness for what might have been. Thank you, Kathy. Blessings to you.

Once in a while I could look at you
See the twinkle in your eyes
With not a word between us
See you smilin’ ’cause you read my mind

Once in a while I could hold you
Not have to say a thing
Though I was giving you all my love
Just by what you were feeling

Oh, I’d be so happy
Happier, happier than I’ve been
Oh, I’d be so happy
Happier, happier than I’ve been

Once in a while I could wake up
Find you lyin’ there touchin’ me, oh, my little girl
Once in a while I could wake up
Find you lyin’ there touchin’ me

Once in a while twenty years from now
After all that we’ve been through
I could tell you by one caress
That it’s been good bein’ loved by you

Oh, I’d be so happy
Happier, happier than I’ve been
Oh, I’d be so happy
Happier, happier than I’ve been

Standard

6 thoughts on “Music for a healthy high school love: Three Dog Night’s I’d Be So Happy

  1. What a great song! And what wonderful memories and gratitude for that relationship! So sweet! πŸ™‚
    I was fortunate to have REALLY good relationships with guys in high school and college! So I can look back fondly with gratitude, too. πŸ™‚
    HUGS!!! πŸ™‚

  2. Tim you are a talented romantic poet but you get your inspiration from a time of large happines and not of times of sadness as many poets make.. It is rare and precious,
    In friendship
    Michel

  3. There’s quite a tightrope to walk between regretting a past relationship because it was bad, and regretting a past relationship because it was good. I only found my balance with that when I fell in love with my current wife. I have a strong suspicion you are in a similar position.

    • I have plenty of regrets from past relationships that were bad, and one that could have been good but ended badly. The one I describe above, I have no regrets about, and with my wife, I’m profoundly happy.

Leave a Reply

