Creative writiing, Food, Music

A jazz song (my own)

I composed this several years ago when I was writing a story about a musical group. I’ve always been proud of it. It rises from my conviction that healthy relationships are fairly uncomplicated and that common sense is an important component.

One of these days I need to finish writing the tune.

A flaky southern biscuit
A big smear of cream cheese
Some nice crisp bacon
and some OJ, please
Let’s go out on the porch
and work this thing through
about you and me, me and you
Will we be one and one or two

No one should talk about love on an empty stomach
No one should talk about love on an empty stomach

A cocktail is nice
with or without ice
but you got to have food
or your thinking’s not so good
Your stomach is your friend
You should feed it now and then
It’s hard to listen or smile
if it’s grumbling all the while

I say no one should talk about love on an empty stomach.
No one should talk about love on an empty stomach

Da-da-da, da-da-da, da da da da da da
Da-da-da, da-da-da, da da da da da da

Steak tartare
A wine-poached pear
Prime beef medium rare
maybe a chocolate eclair
and then let’s go out there
sort out this love affair

Da-da-da, da-da-da, da da da da da da
Da-da-da, da-da-da, da da da da da da

No one should talk about love on an empty stomach
No one should talk about love on an empty stomach
No one should talk about love on an empty stomach
No one should talk about love on an empty stomach

Standard

17 thoughts on “A jazz song (my own)

  1. if you will pardon me a pun… the sea of biscuits and cream cheese just sounds about as wrong as roadkill supper… I realize whereto I’m at and here the notation of pun. I also admit I haven’t tried it…that biscuit and cream cheese thing, but I like noting the ennui seems not to say just sing song can be here but a real emotional statement.

  2. Excellent lyrics…it would make a GREAT jazz song, Tim! 🙂
    People can be cranky when they are hungry. So your advice is good! 😀
    You are right about healthy relationships…and common sense and communication are important. None of this mind-reading crap…or “you should just know how I feel.” stuff!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  3. I would easily have believed this was penned by Irving Berlin; it i brilliant!

    I’m hearing the music as either a bossa-nova type rhythm a la Antonio Carlos Jobim, or as a jaunty syncopated ‘putting on my top hat’ kind of rhythm. Which way should my imagination go with it?

    I’ve always believed love is one of the essential amino acids.

    • The latter is the way I picture it. Not much of a melody except on the chorus, which is sort of echoed by trumpets with wa-wa muting. Sung by a lady in a little black dress and with a smoky voice. I think my inspiration came from The Aristocats.

Leave a Reply

