Music, My life, Spanish

La hamaca rayá – The Striped Hammock

Another installment in my never-ending quest to share delightful Latin music with the world. These lyrics sound pretty dumb in English (see below), but you get the idea. Probably the most similar American song is Roll In My Sweet Baby’s Arms, by Flatt & Scruggs.

Pastor López – La Hamaca Raya – The Striped Hammock

In the shack where I keep my baby
In the shack where I keep my baby
I have a hammock hanging. It’s not very big but it works
In it I sit, I’ve laughed, I’ve swung
In it I sit, I’ve laughed, I’ve swung
and I can tell you, it does work

When I come home at night, very tired
When I come home at night, very tired
my baby’s waiting, ready to swing the hammock for me
I lie down in it and turn to the sides
I lie down in it and turn to the sides
and I can tell you, it does work

I swing this way, I swing that way
I can’t quit using that striped hammock
I swing this way, I swing that way
I can’t quit using that striped hammock

En la chocita donde tengo a mi negrita
en la chocita donde tengo a mi negrita
tengo colgada una hamaca no es muy grande pero sirve
en ella me siento me he reido me he mecido
en ella me siento me he reido me he mecido
y puedo decirles que si sirve…

Cuando yo llego por la noche muy cansado
Cuando yo llego por la noche muy cansado
me espera mi negrita para guindarme la hamaca
en ella me acuesto y doy vuelta hacia los lados
en ella me acuesto y doy vuelta hacia los lados
y puedo decirle que si sirve

Me meso para allá, me meso para acá
la hamaca de rayitas yo no la puedo dejar
Me meso para allá, me meso para acá
la hamaca de rayitas yo no la puedo dejar (Bis)

Standard

10 thoughts on “La hamaca rayá – The Striped Hammock

  1. I am listening to this on my lunch break and now I want to dance! So, I will dance along to Pastor Lopez before I go back to work! 🙂
    What a fun song! 🙂
    HUGS!!! 🙂
    PS…I will NOT say what is going through my mind after reading the English translation of the lyrics.
    PPS…You’re welcome. 😛

  2. A worthy quest, and a great song! I identify strongly with the feeling. Coincidentally, my hammock is also stripy, and also functions as advertised, although my baby happens to be a rubia, not a negrita.

    • My wife is paler than I am, but her aunt always called her “mi negrita” because of her jet black hair.

      I grew up with a striped Colombian hammock, and 35 years later, the same hammock was being used by my kids on their porch, until Texas weather wore it out.

  3. hammocks are amazing and i think of them more as luxuries than as necessary innovations.
    this is a beautiful song. i get the sense that there are many good memories that come flooding in for you when you listen to this.

    • There are numerous tribes in South America that use hammocks as their beds. They weave some amazing ones, in which you can lie perfectly flat. For us gringos, a hammock is a luxury.

      I used to hear this song on the San Cristóbal bus as I rode home from school, or playing on a loud PA system at community parties. It brings back many memories of my adolescence.

Leave a Reply

