Handyman, My life

Memorial Day rainstorm

Monday afternoon there was a magnificent Florida downpour. This is my back yard. In the distance you can see my shop. The bare ground in the foreground is an ancient brick patio. Other non-grass areas have recently been reclaimed from the encroaching jungle. The creek alongside the garage is a brick walkway, which has sunk over the years.

I spent the weekend grouting the new tiles in the kitchen. The downstairs floor is finally done! Since Alicia left, I tiled the bathroom, breakfast room, kitchen, and laundry room. It involved moving appliances around, which made it even more of a hassle than usual. But it’s done! I’ve repainted the baseboards. Last night I nailed them back up.

Alicia is due back Friday night. I have an enormous amount of cleaning to do by then.

Sorry I haven’t been on all that much. WordPress is blocked at one of my work locations, and when I’m home I don’t have much time to get on because of all the work on the house.

Standard

6 thoughts on “Memorial Day rainstorm

  1. That was fun to watch! I love watching it rain!
    Did you go play in the mud?! πŸ˜€
    Sounds like you have been super busy tiling! Yay for tile and for all the work completed! πŸ™‚
    I hope you get all the cleaning done before Friday!
    Welcome Home to Alicia! I pray she has a safe and enjoyable trip!
    HUGS!!! to both of you! πŸ™‚

    • I didn’t play in the mud this time.

      I barely started on the cleaning last night because I was rebuilding the laundry room shelves. They’re up but need a coat of paint, which will slow me down tonight as well. I’ll really have to hustle to get ready for Alicia by Friday night.

  2. sunsetdragon says:

    Now that is some very cool energy in that down pour.
    The kitchen sounds really nice and bet Alicia will be thrilled with it.
    Have a good evening and a good day tomorrow.

  3. Wow, that’s alotta tile and grout! You’ll need a manicure for sure!
    I like the video. Strange that video of rain can be entertaining

Leave a Reply

