My life

Should I stay or should I go?

There is a farewell dinner happening at this moment for someone I don’t really know.

This happens all the time. I moved to Tampa 15 months ago, and still don’t know anyone other than my supervisor, a handful of fellow linguists, and a couple of the most regular clients. Besides the fact that I’m an introvert, I split my week between the Tampa and St. Petersburg offices, which also keeps me from spending much time with anyone.

People seem to be retiring every couple of weeks. I get e-mails constantly announcing where to contribute to farewell gifts, where dinners will be held, send farewell letters to so-and-so, don’t forget to sign the card.

Today it’s one of the cleaning ladies. She has been here for 30 years. I didn’t know her name before I saw the poster announcing her retirement. She probably knows me as “third cubicle, white dude with ponytail who occasionally thanks me in Spanish.”

I could go enjoy the potluck food, but that would mean rubbing shoulders with a bunch of other people that I don’t know, saying goodbye to yet another person I don’t know, and not eating the lunch my wife lovingly packed for me that I didn’t eat yesterday because we had a medical appointment.

I don’t know.

Standard

19 thoughts on “Should I stay or should I go?

  1. I always skip things like this. Occasionally I go to a retirement thing if I know the person. Most the time I don’t. When I retire in a few months I’ll skip my retirement thingy.

  2. I would at least make an appearance. You don’t have to stay for the whole thing. Just tell her that while you haven’t been there long and don’t know her well, that you wish her the best in her retirement.

  3. You should go go! (I always go to things like this.) That you thank her in Spanish is wonderful and kind. I think she will always remember that and you. If you go, you could wish her a nice retirement.
    Good song and post pairing.
    Ponytail, eh.
    HUGS!!! 🙂

  4. I don’t like to go to retirement parties. The only retirement party I went to, was MINE! I had to go because the hospital and my staff were honoring me and the public was invited. It was kind of embarrassing, but it was cool.

  5. I know what you mean, specially the collecting money for gift. Like giving for the red cross” I’ve already given”
    They never give parties or gifts for the new coming people.
    I use to go away in silence like the man with no name….I love it, but it is not a nice thing to do. They had to chase me to give a little gift. Never seen them in the last four years.

  6. Hubby usually only goes to those things if it’s somebosy he knew and liked. Since he’s worked at the same company for 35 years, he knows everbody who is retiring! In a few years, it will be his turn!
    Since you haven’t been there long, I’m sure nobody was upset that you didn’t go.

  7. digitalgranny says:

    I never went unless I knew the people. I worked for a large school district for 25 years and only knew the people I interacted with involved with my students.
    When I retired it was during summer break and there was on dinner or gifts or groups of people, and that is why I did it during summer break.

Leave a Reply

