Music

Hoy corté una flor – I picked a flower today (Leonardo Favio)

I have a soft spot for the late Leonardo Favio, one of the most sentimental singers ever. This was his first and biggest hit. My translation is below.

I picked a flower today (and it rained and rained)
waiting for my love (and it rained and rained)
The people hurried by, running,
and the city was left deserted, because it was raining.
I got to thinking about so many lovely things,
like the day on the beach when I met you,
the way the wind toyed with your little-girl hair.
Oh, how lucky, how lucky! Your gaze and mine.

When you arrive, my love, I’ll tell you so many things,
or maybe I’ll just give you a rose.
Because I picked a flower (and it rained and rained)
waiting for my love (and it rained and rained).
May your singing make me happy,
may your laughter make me happy,
may your gaze and mine silently make each other happy.

We’ll go down the empty streets talking,
we’ll go down the empty streets kissing,
and those empty streets will know that I love you..

And I’ll tell you so many lovely things,
like the day on the beach when I met you,
the way the wind toyed with your little-girl hair.
Oh, how lucky, how lucky! Your gaze and mine.

When you arrive, my love, I’ll tell you so many things,
or maybe I’ll just give you a rose.
(Or maybe he’ll just give me the rose,
or maybe he’ll just give me the rose.)

We’ll go down the empty streets talking,
we’ll go down the empty streets kissing,
and those empty streets will know that I love you.

And I’ll tell you so many lovely things,
like the day on the beach when I met you,
the way the wind toyed with your little-girl hair.
Oh, how lucky, how lucky! Your gaze and mine.

Standard

7 thoughts on “Hoy corté una flor – I picked a flower today (Leonardo Favio)

    • I enjoy his music a lot. He basically has three stories that turn up in various forms in his songs: meeting a girlfriend, breaking up, and reminiscence. But he sings them really well. Some are hilariously lugubrious, like “La foto de carnet” (the ID photo).

    • Leonardo Favio was Argentinean.

      There is a Mexican song with a title similar to your phrase, with the following lyrics:

      Las flores que tú me diste, se están muriendo de hielo
      Cúbrelas entre tú pecho, que para mi es un consuelo
      Que para mí es un consuelo

      Ayer tarde fui a tu casa, porque así me convenía
      No quiero que me abandones, porque quiero que seas mía
      Porque quiero que seas mía

      Recuerdo que me dijiste, que nunca me olvidarías,
      Fue lo primero que hiciste, olvidaste a quien querías
      Olvidaste a quien querías

      And there is also this song by Gloria Estefan:

      Ayer encontre la flor que tu me diste,
      Imagen del amor que me ofreciste,
      Aun guarda fiel el aroma, aquel tierno clavel

      Ayer encontre la flor que tu me diste.
      Aun guardo aquella carta que me escribiste,

      De un rojo pasional tenia una marca,
      Ti firma junto al clavel me puso triste.
      Aun guardo aquella carta que me escribiste.

      Regresa por favor pues la vida es muy corta,

Leave a Reply

