Blogging

Liebster Award: I want to thank all the little people

The Leibster Award

Tony Roberts has nominated me for a Liebster Award. I have yet to discover who Liebster is, but apparently this is my door to blogging fame, prestige, and prosperity, and I would be a fool not to leap through it and inflict it on my friends.

  • Each nominee must link back to the person who nominated him or her.
  • Answer the 10 questions given to you by the nominator.
  • Nominate 10 other bloggers for this award who have less than 200 followers.
  • Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer.
  • Let the nominees know that they have been nominated by going to their blog and notifying them.

Tony’s ten questions are the following:

What is your favorite punctuation mark?

Commas look like little sperms or tadpoles.

Do you really believe man walked on the moon or have you come to accept the reality that it was a very elaborate Hollywood hoax?

I had a friend who bounced a laser off of one of the reflectors left on the moon by an Apollo mission.

What brand of toothpaste do you use and why?

Anything under a buck. Because I don’t want my teeth to rot.

Can you listen to John Prine (above) without smiling and/or Zoe Muth (above) without crying in your beer? (If yes) Are you human?

Had I known in advance about Zoe Muth, I would have prepared myself with a beer to cry into, but here at the office all I have is coffee. As to John Prine: fortunately, I have the key to escape reality.

Do you prefer print books or e-readers?

I don’t know what I’d do with all my bookcases if all my books were on an e-reader. (I suspect my wife would have some ideas.)

Share a quote that you find inspiring.

As I watch the sun rise over the mountains, I realize it’s not night time anymore. – Russ Meehan (dude I went to high school with)

If you write, what is the title of your work in progress?  If not, what book are you currently reading?

No title, I’m just experimentally putting one of my characters through hell to see what he does, in writing that will never be read by anyone else. My wife and I are reading Terry Pratchett’s Men at Arms (Hombres de armas) out loud in Spanish.

Favorite Beatle?  (John, Paul, George, or Ringo) Why?

Ringo. He has never taken himself too seriously.

What group of workers do you believe actually deserves to make what top entertainers and athletes make?

It would be cool to see schoolteachers rewarded, supported, and recognized as they deserve.

Name one poster you put on your wall growing up.

My last migraine was just before Field Day my junior year of high school. I took a pill, put on Pink Floyd’s Dark Side of the Moon, lay on my roommate’s bed, stared at the psychedelic poster he had on the ceiling, and watched the colors swirl around.

Bonus question of my own: What’s your favorite word?

It’s a dead heat between ‘nostril’ and ‘knucklehead.’

My victims nominees:

Distracted by Zombies

Happy Obligations

Godfather of Green Bay

almondcoffeed

Cracking My Egg

The Secret Life of Pandas

The Chalk Outline

Owl and Terrapin

Inciteful

Atlanta Spoon

The questions for my nominees are the following:

What’s your favorite word?

What is the coolest thing you’ve ever done?

What accomplishment of yours do you think ought to receive public attention?

Who was your favorite teacher and why?

If you were a superhero, what would be your power?

Pasta, potato, or rice?

What was your favorite childhood book?

Where would you rather be than where you are now?

What famous person would you most like to have lunch with?

What’s that over there?

Standard

29 thoughts on “Liebster Award: I want to thank all the little people

  1. digitalgranny says:

    If I win I expect a trip to a desert island with wifi free. Honestly though you do keep an excellent blog and I enjoy following your life.

  2. Thank you for not nominating me. It looks like just another Xanga survey, oh, wait, this is WordPress. Ugh. I was just over at Xanga, but there aren’t many blogs to read.

  3. Pingback: almondcoffeed

  4. LOL. Loved this. I’m curious about the pill too. But think about it — it kept you from having another migraine ever! Or was that the Dark Side of the Moon that did that? I think someone needs to do research. peace always

  5. Great responses and excellent questions. As the “little person” who nominated you, I’d say I made a wise choice.

    Oh, and Lawrence Liebster was a frustrated 19th century French blogger whose only followers were pyramid schemers, evangelical witches and POETS WHO WROTE IN ALL CAPS.

  6. Thank you so much. 🙂 I appreciate the nomination and I’ll do what I can to pass it along. I don’t know if I can come up with 10 blogs but I’ll try.
    I like the progress you’ve been making on the remodel.
    Have a great weekend.

  7. g. says:

    Your quote was fantastic. It reminded me of a line from Parks and Rec: “But every time I look one of these kids in the eyes, and he calls me coach? That’s how I know I agreed to be a coach.”
    Nice.
    g.

Leave a Reply

