Handyman, My life

Selecting tile

I love shopping at Floor & Decor. Here’s an example of why.

Alicia: “You know, I really prefer tile baseboards to wood. In my apartment in Colombia, I had the installer cut strips of tile and use them instead of baseboards.”

Me: “The problem with that is the red strip that shows when you cut ceramic tile.”

Alicia: “We could grout the edge. That’s what I did in my apartment.”

Me: “Yeah. It wouldn’t look that classy, though. They sell bull-nose baseboard tiles, but they have ridiculous prices, and it’s hard to find a match in any case. Look: $3.99 for a one-foot piece! $2.87, $4.25… It would cost as much as the rest of the tile for the room.  Hey, they have these on clearance for .25 each! Would this match our tile?”

Alicia: “Perfectly.”

Me: “Okay. Cool. We’ll do tile baseboards, then.”

We selected tile last night for the kitchen, laundry, breakfast room, and dining room. It’s almost embarrassingly inexpensive, but is good quality and will look great. Some products are the kind of thing that you don’t spend a lot of time looking at, because they just look normal (like white walls). Our tile is that way.

The staircase is a challenge. To use laminate would mean an extra $50 per tread, which is prohibitive. We decided to use outside corner mold (L-shaped wood) on the front edges, strips of the downstairs tile behind that for the treads, and small decorative squares on the risers (the fronts). I didn’t want tile edges because if someone slipped and hit their forehead, it could be bad. I hope it looks conventional enough not to freak out potential buyers.

I’ll post pictures as the work progresses.

Standard

16 thoughts on “Selecting tile

    • I’m looking forward to getting to that stage! But I need to finish painting first, and get the cedar beams sanded and finished and back up. If my health holds up (I’m at the edge of a cold), I hope to make substantial progress this week.

  1. Dear Mr. Spatula –

    I have nominated you for a Liebster Award. Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to read the nomination post (below) and share the love. I can not promise that your participation will grant you health or wealth (I’m not Joel Osteen, nor do I play him on the blogosphere). I will say, for me, it has been a pretty cool way to connect with other bloggers. And, since I’ve been accepting awards, no unsightly warts have appeared on my body.

    Congratulations. And keep up the good work.

    Now, if you are so led, you may go here —

    http://awaywithwordsblog.com/2013/09/24/social-psychology-blue-kangaroo-suits-and-the-brady-bunch-the-liebster-strikes-again/

  2. RuthG says:

    How cool that you & Alicia could shop together & make a mutually satisfactory decision–along with getting the good deal. Some couples wouldn’t share enough background in such things to discuss it properly.

Leave a Reply

