Multiculturality, Music

Everything changes

On Friday nights at Cali Viejo, Alicia and Angela almost always sing Todo cambia. And every single time, I get goosebumps.

I don’t know who wrote it. It was made famous by Mercedes Sosa and has been covered by other protest singers. Like many great protest songs, it makes references to the singer’s exile, yearning for home, and longing for things to be set right.

Here are the translated lyrics:

Superficial things change
Profound things change also
Ways of thinking change
Everything in this world changes
The climate changes with the years
The shepherd changes his flock
And just as everything else changes
it’s not strange that I should change
The finest diamond’s brilliance changes
as it passes from hand to hand
The little bird changes its nest
A lover’s feelings change
The wanderer changes his route
even if it causes him harm
and just as everything else changes
it’s not strange that I should change
It changes, everything changes
It changes, everything changes
It changes, everything changes
It changes, everything changes
The sun changes in its path
while the night remains
The plant changes, it dresses
in green in the spring
The wild beast sheds its fur
The old man’s hair changes color
and just as everything else changes
it’s not strange that I should change
But my love doesn’t change
no matter how far away I am
nor the memory nor the pain
of my nation and my people
What changed yesterday
will have to change again tomorrow
just as I am changing here
in this distant land
It changes, everything changes
It changes, everything changes
It changes, everything changes
It changes, everything changes…

Standard

11 thoughts on “Everything changes

  1. ordinarybutloud says:

    was just talking to my friend in colombia. she is losing patience with me not going. also she wants to take a side trip to medellin while I’m there. I’m uncertain. I hear mixed things in my circle. This is a cool song.

    • Go! You won’t regret it. My daughter said after returning from a two-week visit, “How can I be homesick for a place I only visited once?”

      Medellín is great, and make sure to go up the mountain to the Oriente, an area of gorgeous old towns and spectacular scenery. You’ll get a taste of it between the airport and the city.

  2. Nice song. I like it and think I’d appreciate it even more if I understood Spanish. I know you translated (or is that interpreted? no, translation, I think) but it isn’t quite the same as hearing and understanding.

    • In the translation community, interpretation refers to oral translation and translation refers to written. So this is a translation.

      It definitely has a different feel when you understand the words as you’re hearing them. And it really gives me chills when my wife and her sister are harmonizing.

  3. You can here the longing and poignancy coming through in the singers voice and the music. Wow. It actually brought tears to my eyes.
    Change (especially changes we see as “bad”) can be so challenging…so sad…so tough at times…but I try to embrace it, learn from it, and move forward.
    I would love to hear Alicia and Angela sing it!
    HUGS!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

