A friend in Colombia heard this song on the radio some years ago and was entranced. He recorded it on cassette and gave me a copy, which I recorded onto my computer and have uploaded.

We would really like to know who this singer is, and the name of the song. I have searched using phrases from the lyrics to no avail. My guess is that it is from the 1950s or 1960s and that the singer is someone like Doris Day. The composer might be someone who wrote musicals. Those are uneducated guesses; I’m not a musicologist.

If you find out, please let me know.

The lyrics are more or less as follows:

[Unintelligible line]
The dreams I shape, they call to me
There’s no escape, I’m never free
I run and run and when I’m through I run to you.
[Unintelligible] rains that never ends
The summer rains they never end
The sound of larks it never ends
[Unintelligible] parks that never end
Time can’t erase, cannot dispel, that smiling face I knew so well
It was always there as you can guess to bring despair and loneliness
All those I tried to kiss all knew that I’d kissed you
When love was mine the earth was new
and there were things to see and do
When love was mine the skies were too
You’d run to me and I to you
Now it’s small comfort to recall that it is better dear by far
to once have loved than never to have loved at all
When love was mine the earth was new
and there were things to see and do
When love was mine the sky was too
You’d run to me and I to you
Now it’s small comfort to recall that it is better dear by far
to once have loved than never to have loved at all

7 thoughts on “Mystery song – Female vocalist

    • The friend recorded it off the radio with a cassette, and then I recorded it from the cassette player with the computer’s built-in mike, so there’s a couple of reasons for a rough ending. I should have shortened my digital recording a couple of seconds.

  1. g. says:

    I miss the sound of cassette tapes.
    I listened to that song three times (it really grows on you) and have little to offer except it’s definitely not Doris Day. There are moments it has a vaguely Judy/Liza sound, but I think it’s too late for one and too early for the other. (I also can’t imagine either of them agreeing to compete with that kind of arrangement.)
    That is all I have to offer–and it’s remarkable unhelpful!
    g.

    • I searched all the Judy Garland songs I could find a couple of months ago and found nothing like it. She was my first guess because of the lilting on the high notes. My Doris Day search didn’t turn anything up either. Doesn’t sound stylized enough for Liza’s voice.

Leave a Reply

