Colombia, Music

Listening to a godson sing

Alicia has more godchildren than anyone else I know. I don’t remember if it’s 15 or 25. Probably the former. Her first godchild wasn’t an official one; the nephew of her erstwhile boyfriend was abandoned by his mother and ignored by his father, essentially raised by his grandparents. So Alicia stepped in and provided nurture all through his childhood.

He’s now in his 20s and has become an excellent musician. We went to hear him sing at Angus Brangus, where they have this cool fountain on the end of the building.

The restaurant is fairly new, and very classy… with the exception of the bathrooms. They have those auto-flush toilets but no toilet seats.

On the huge TP dispenser is this interesting sign: “Please do not throw paper into the bath [sic]. Thank you.” It’s not uncommon here for used TP to go in the trash because of inadequate plumbing.

The food was phenomenal, but I forgot to take a photo of the steak we shared. Here’s the dessert: flan and postre de nata. It was quite delicious.

Hugo’s band played very well. His lead guitarist played mostly on an acoustic guitar with electronic pickup, but it sounded like an electric guitar. The bassist had a cool 5-string bass. They played a mix of folk music (with modern arrangements) and pop music.

I sang along when they performed La quiero a morir. One of my favorite love songs… I sometimes sing it at the Colombian restaurant in Tampa.

(Alicia had a plain wedding band made for me so my emerald ring wouldn’t get beat up.)

Hugo told us he had auditioned for La Voz Colombia (The Voice Colombia) and so far has passed his auditions. So you may see more of him in the future. Alicia’s niece Sara Elisa also auditioned last week and was interviewed by the sponsoring network, which suggests that she also passed. If they make it to the show, we’ll have to start eating at the Colombian restaurant in Tampa when the show’s on so we can watch.

Standard

10 thoughts on “Listening to a godson sing

  1. Congratulations to them for passing the auditions for La Voz Colombia! La Quiero A Morir is a great song! I am listening to it now. Which version is your favorite? I love the original version. I love flan! My late mother used to make flans a lot. Have a great day! 🙂

    • I’m a sucker for the original. Shakira sang it but doesn’t measure up to Francis Cabrel. And someday I should write a post about recycling love songs… I first heard it with a girlfriend in France in 1983, and then in 1985 a French doctor gave me a Cabrel tape after I had gotten engaged to a different girl, from whom I’m now divorced. My wife and I also listened to it during our courtship, and now it belongs entirely to the two of us.

      • I don’t like Shakira’s version. I do like other versions but I absolutely love Francis Cabrel’s version. I look forward to that post! Glad you get to enjoy it with your wife and make it yours. I think it truly fits the two of you. You’re a beautiful couple! 🙂

  2. ordinarybutloud says:

    excellent night out on the town. apparently the TP problem is common in Greece too. Plus I’ve been to my share of out-of-the-way cabins in the woods with the same sign, usually in English, right here in the US.

  3. That is so good that Alicia is God mother to so many, it shows what a good heart she may have. Those food looks so yummy, and made my mouth water. And photo of the two of you, looks so romantic.

    • She has only one son, but would have loved to have a dozen kids. She’s the most involved godmother I’ve ever seen.

      It was a romantic outing. We’re having a good time here, between all of Alicia’s appointments.

  4. Sounds like y’all are having a lovely time and Alicia rocks. I’m sure all her godchildren are blessed and grateful to have her around. Love the wedding band. Stephen got me a plain band to wear when we are doing team building or when I’m doing karate so I won’t get mine messed up. Great idea

  5. grannyandthebaldguy says:

    Alicia is a wonderful woman to help Mother and nurture so many children. I would find those toilets a challenge with no toilet seats. That has got to be a cold experience for the ladies.
    Looks like a wonderful evening out.

Leave a Reply

